Events

Upcoming Virtual Events

“Defining Digital Ethics and ePortfolios”

Moderators: Helen L. Chen (@helenlchen), Kevin Kelly (@KevinKelly0), Misty M. Kirby (@OneLove_mk), and Samantha Veneruoso (@professorsv)  

At the AAEEBL Annual Meeting last month, attendees participated in interactive activities and generative discussions about digital ethics and ePortfolios. The topics ranged from how to guide students in their use of copyrighted materials to understanding end-user license agreements (EULAs) connected to ePortfolio-making platforms and also issues of privacy, net neutrality, and digital citizenship.   We would like to invite you to join a twitter chat on August 14/15 as we continue to explore this topic of “Defining Digital Ethics and ePortfolios” at #eportchat. This chat will run from August 14-16 and will start with an active moderated chat from 11-12 p.m. PT/2-3 p.m. ET/6-7 p.m. GMT on August 14. There will be another chat moderated from 11:30-12:30 AEST/1:30-2:30 pm NZST on August 14 at a more civilized time for our colleagues in Australasia. During the rest of the time, we will keep the hashtag #eportchat open until August 16 so that more people can continue to post and participate in the discussion.   New to Twitter Chats? Check out some helpful resources here.

  Wakelet from our first AAEEBL/EPAC twitter chat on “Why ePortfolios? Why now?” [https://wke.lt/w/s/3k0TgT]
If you would like to learn more about AAEEBL’s yearlong initiative focusing on Digital Ethics and ePortfolios and be notified of future events and opportunities to participate, please share your contact information here: https://forms.gle/xxDb11o1MtULRiS38


AAEEBL/EPAC Webinar: ePortfolios and Residence Life at the University of Alaska Anchorage
Presenter: 
Ryan J. Hill, Associate Director of Residence Life

Thursday, August 8, 11 a.m. HI/1 p.m. AK/2 p.m. PDT/4 p.m. CDT/5 p.m. EDT/9 p.m. GMT

Friday, August 9, 7 a.m. AEST/9 a.m. NZST

To double check your time zone for the meeting, visit https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

If you are unable to join the session but would like to receive a link to the recording and follow up materials, please register here: https://tinyurl.com/aaeebl19UAA

Connect to the Event

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://stanford.zoom.us/j/684990647

iPhone one-tap (US Toll): +18333021536,,684990647# or +16507249799,,684990647#

Telephone: Dial: +1 650 724 9799 (US, Canada, Caribbean Toll) or +1 833 302 1536 (US, Canada, Caribbean Toll Free)

Meeting ID: 684 990 647

International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/aeajH7BmTU

Webinar registration is available here: https://tinyurl.com/aaeebl19UAA

Please join us for an interactive discussion on using ePortfolios to support the professional development of students.  The Department of Residence Life at the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA) has piloted several iterations of the rehiring process of student staff members and recently incorporated ePortfolios with great success. Student staff members were asked to create portfolios of their accomplishments aimed at encouraging students to reflect on the impact of their work on their residents and the community. Ryan will share example ePortfolios and describe how UAA is assessing the impact of ePortfolios in student employment in residential education programs.

This webinar is open to the AAEEBL/EPAC/AAC&U communities and all others who are interested in the topic. Please join us!

If you have questions about connecting with the AAEEBL community, send an email to connect@aaeebl.org.