March 2018 Meetup

Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the Field: An International Exploration of the AAEEBL & AAC&U Field Guide to ePortfolio

Wednesday, March 7, at 12 p.m. PT/1 p.m. MT/3 p.m. ET (U.S.)/8 p.m. GMT/UTC; Thursday, March 8, 7 a.m. (Melbourne), 9 a.m.(NZ)

Piloted by

Kathryn Coleman, University of Melbourne and AAEEBL Board Member

picInflight details include
Join us for a flight over the field in this AAEEBL/EPAC meetup that will survey the field guide concise essays. We will take off by looking at each concept developed in the 12 papers, and the questions that drove each topic area. Inflight, we will look at the big meaty ideas explored while you have time to consider what the key takeaways for your practices and pedagogies may be. Just before landing we will ask you for your soundbite and headline of the Field Guide trip, and how you may like to contribute to growing the field in the future.

Register here

Sponsored by the Association for Authentic, Experiential, Evidence-Based Learning (AAEEBL) and the ePortfolio Action & Communication Community of Practice (EPAC) together with the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U)

About our Captain

Kathryn Coleman is an artist, researcher and teacher. Her work focuses on the integration of digital pedagogies and digital portfolios for sustained creative practice and assessment. Kate is a Lecturer in Visual Arts and Design Teacher Education at the Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne Australia, AAEEBL Board member and InSEA World Councillor.

A bit of background before take off
The Field Guide instructions to interested AAEEBL members in Boston in 2015 included a message from then AAEEBL President, Dr Trent Batson:

“Peterson’s Field Guide to Birds is not aimed at other ornithologists but at novices.  It is for budding birders to identify birds, only one aspect of studying birds (bird behavior, species interaction, nesting, and etc are others).  The purpose could to attract more advocates for birds”.

This contextualised the guide and the purpose of such a collection of ideas and concepts in the AAEEBL community that resulted in the 2017 digital publication of The Field Guide to ePortfolio. Trent and Judy’s initial ideas were to support novices and educationalists new to portfolio pedagogy with a handbook if you will, in the big ideas as seen by the experts in the community. It was a big task, and one that grew out of a digital project management tool and Google Drive repository of concepts brainstormed at the AAEEBL Annual Meeting that summer.  The guide is now an open access curated collection of 12 concise papers and digital resources that continues to develop and grow with the help of AAEEBL members.

The Field Guide is available at

Anyone who is interested in joining the AAEEBL/EPAC Meetups is welcome to join by pre-registering for the session so that we can send you a participation link. This conversation will be recorded for later viewing. If you cannot attend the live session, please still register so that we can send you a link to the recording and also invite you to join future conversations. As we look to new ways to innovate and encourage greater engagement and opportunities for networking, we welcome both your enthusiasm and suggestions!

Please register for this event at by Monday, March 5.

One thought on “March 2018 Meetup

  1. Pingback: EPAC Meetups – AAEEBL

Comments are closed.